Music Notes

Ed Sheeran Just Released A Duet With Beyoncé And We Can't Believe It Didn't Happen Sooner

You could call this collaboration pretty "Perfect."

Ed Sheeran's romantic track "Perfect," from his most recent album Divide, just got a swoon-worthy new version with a very special collaborator — Beyoncé. Sheeran, who was recently nominated for two Grammys, casually teased the release on Instagram Thursday, writing, "Got Beyoncé to duet with me on Perfect, comes out today at 7pm ET / 4pm PT / midnight GMT x."

The song dropped on Thursday night, as promised, and it does not disappoint. Just last month, Sheeran released the official music video for the tune, which featured actress Zoey Deutch, a ski lodge, and slow dancing in the snow. Although this new version doesn't have a video yet (fingers crossed), it retains the same dreamy quality of the original.

Sheeran and Beyoncé each sing a solo verse, with Beyoncé singing a slightly altered version of the lyrics to change the genders. Later, the pair sings the song's chorus together. The tender vocals are backed by a simple acoustic guitar. In keeping with the original video's theme and the holiday season, the official audio (below) features a snowy backdrop.

As E! News points out, this isn't actually the duo's first collaboration, as they previously joined forces in February 2015 to pay tribute to Stevie Wonder. Last month, Beyoncé was also featured on Eminem's track "Walk on Water."

Listen to the full duet below:

Cover image via InstagramInstagram

Visit Music Notes to let A Plus "note" the new songs, videos, and artists you should be paying attention to, as well as discuss noteworthy performances by veterans and rookies at award and talent shows.

More From A Plus

GET SOME POSITIVITY IN YOUR INBOX

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest news and exclusive updates.