Gmail's 'Undo Send' Finally Becomes An Official Feature. We Needed This, Like, Yesterday.

The most useful button on the Internet.

It might seem like common sense, but it's actually taken Google six years to get the Gmail undo send feature from its Labs beta testing into the (virtual) hands of consumers. But now, finally, the most important button on the Internet is available to all. Starting today, any Gmail user can go into their settings and activate the Undo Send feature, which makes it possible to snatch back a message in the moments after you press the "Send" button, should you realize you've made a grammar error or a social faux pas. 

You can even set the amount of time you have to click Undo Send before your communiqué is gone for good. You can choose just five seconds, if you're a daredevil who lives for life's thrills, or select the 30-second option if you're trying to de-stress. But either way, Google isn't just giving this lifesaving new addition away for nothing: you're going to have to work for it a little bit, by manually going in and changing your settings. Hey, there's no such thing as a free lunch.

There's just one downside to the the new Undo Send feature: now we all have even less of an excuse when we accidentally Reply All or send off a typo-filled response. So remember: re-reading is your friend.